52 Drawings in 52 Weeks

Drawing of the week- week 20

Here you go, drawing of the week number 20. Well, not technically a drawinggg, but it counts.

DEW 20 piggy bank.png

If you remember the last time you saw this painting, you’ll know that it was a lot less. . . well, done.

I knew that of course, but when I put these two progress shots together I was a little surprised.  I didn’t realize how much I really did, especially on the pig. It’s satisfying to look at how much progress I made, considering how much time it took. It’s easy to lose track of the progress when you’re staring at the same thing for hours as it builds up ever so slowly.

Overall, I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I think I could have improved on the composition and I think there might be a few issues with the saturation and/or values. Part of the problem was just with the set up of the still life and how much I stuck with reality.

The beauty of art- or one of the beauties I should say- is that you don’t have to follow your reference to the T. (tea?) You can change it if you want, you can even improve on it. The unfortunate thing is that a lot of the time I forget about that and I get too caught up in replicating the details in the reference.

I suppose I coulddd fix the value/saturation problems in this painting, but there’s a time to quit and that time is now.  Next time, I’ll make sure to pay more attention to these things.

PS. I’m finally done school. Foreverr (sort of) So now I can commence with my regular posting schedule. Yayy

Leave a Reply

